Banana Muffins

Yesterday, was kind of a crappy day. First, I twisted my ankle trying to climb down out of a tree I had climbed up to hide the bag I was carrying while I went on a run (yes, I still ran and yes, I highly regret that decision). When I came home after that dreadful run, I stuck the Potato Cheddar soup I had made. Then to top it all off, I became very sick, to the point of almost vomiting.

However, I am leaving yesterday behind me and focusing on today and the fact I got to make these for my rockstar of a sister. She loves these things. If I made these everyday of the week, she would still never get tired of them, which is great cause we always have overly ripe bananas lying around and I never need an excuse to bake.

The wonderful thing about this recipe is how amazingly moist they are and how sweet they are without all the sugar. This recipe has only 1/3 cup of sugar! Once you taste these, you will never understand why there are so many banana bread recipes with upwards of 2 cups of sugar. The trick is the bananas. If you make sure the bananas are really nice and mushy and brown, the natural  sugars will have time formed and you won’t have to use nearly as much sugar as you normally would. Who doesn’t love that?

img_6270
Banana Bread:

Ingredients:

  • 1  1/2 cup mashed bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2  1/4 cup flour
  • 1  1/2 tsp. Baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a muffin tin of any size.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, mashed the bananas. Add the eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar. Mix until combined.
  3. In another medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, and salt and stir until combined.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the banana mixture slowly and stir until just combined. Scoop the batter into each of the muffin cups on the pan and cook for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before eating.
  6. Enjoy!

 

Recipe created by Tribe Gibson

Leave a Reply

