Protein Pancakes

As a weightlifter, I am really cautious of what I eat, in particular, carbohydrates and protein. I try to eat as much protein as I can and limit the amount of carbs I eat at every meal. Finding ways to do that can be challenging, especially since I don’t use any type of store bought protein powder or bar. All of my protein comes from the food I fix and prepare myself. What I have found is breakfast has been the hardest meal for me to keep those macros in check. Cue protein pancakes!

These pancakes are like a little macro godsend for me. These pancakes are super easy to make and taste really good. Each of these pancakes has 6 grams of protein. 6 grams in only one pancake!

These do cook like regular pancakes, but they need a little longer on each side. The trick is to make sure the temperature of the pan you’re using is right. The pan needs to be slightly hotter than you would have it for regular pancakes. For a griddle, that would be about 375°F. The texture of this pancakes are also a little different than regular pancakes. These are softer, less firm then normal pancakes, but the texture doesn’t bother me at all. I put a little strawberry jam (it’s better for you than maple syrup) and I devour them in about 3 seconds flat without ever noticing the texture. Now all you have to do is figure out all the different combinations of healthy toppings you can put on them!  🙂

Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 12 oz. cottage cheese, small curd
  • 1/2 tbsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. In a blender, blend the cottage cheese until it is smooth. Transfer the cheese to a bowl.
  2. Add eggs, one by one, to the cottage cheese. Mixing after each addition. Then add the vanilla and stir after its addition.
  3. In another bowl, mix together the flour and baking soda together. Add this to the cottage cheese mixture.
  4. Scoop out on a hot griddle set to 375°F with a 1/4 cup measuring cup. Flip over when there are bubbles in the middle of the pancake and the edges appear to be cooked.
  5. Allow to cool.
  6. Enjoy!

Makes 16 pancakes

 

Recipe adapted from: Fountain Avenue Kitchen

 

Leave a Reply

